HS Summer Reading

 

June 13, 2018

 

Dear Students & Parents,

 

We hope Summer 2018 is off to a great start! The faculty and staff here are already looking forward to seeing you back in the classroom fully recharged and ready to learn. Summer is a great time to go on vacation, hang out with family and friends, and of course summer is a great time to READ. As Dr. Seuss once wrote, “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” That is great advice, as studies show that reading increases vocabulary, improves writing skills, and promotes analytical thinking.

 

While we hope students will read more than the titles listed below during the summer, we have carefully selected titles that are both interesting to read and grade appropriate. Students should arrive on the first day of school having read the entire book and be ready to discuss. Those students that arrive at school with their respective assignment already complete will be entered into a drawing for a prize! The final due date for the summer reading project is Friday, August 17th.

 

If you have any questions about the summer reading assignment, please contact your teacher and allow up to one week for a response due to summer vacations. Be sure to put “Summer Reading Question” in the subject line of the email. If you fail to receive a response after 1 week, feel free to reach out to me.

 

– Tracy Harrelson tracy.harrelson@tcslions.org

 

 


 

 

9th Grade – Dixie King (dixie.king@tcslions.org)

9th Grade Honors- John Mueller (john.mueller@tcslions.org)

10th Grade- Jenny Lenarz (jenny.lenarz@tcslions.org)

11th Grade- Amy Stewart (amy.stewart@tcslions.org)

12th Grade- John Mueller (john.mueller@tcslions.org)

AP English Language & Composition- Val Adams (val.adams@tcslions.org)

AP English Literature & Composition- Val Adams (val.adams@tcslions.org)